Group think – the good, the bad, and the beautiful


Sometimes crimes are committed by individuals, alone, but sometimes crimes are committed in groups.  In fact, there are many tales of young people who otherwise would not dream of violence or theft but who get pulled into serious criminal acts by a group of negative peers acting out badly, egging each other on.

But are groups of human beings always negative?  Do we behave badly in groups?  I don’t think so.  In fact, some of the best expressions of our humanity come in large groups dedicated to positive action. 

I love a crowd.  A positive crowd.  I love Ottawa’s festivals, parades, sports events (mostly although those can turn sour) and I love the United Way breakfast!

It may seem goofy, but I absolutely love United Way’s annual kick off breakfast.  This morning, in the old Cattle Castle, well over a thousand people came together to dedicate themselves to raising $33,500,000 over the next few months.  Not only that, we all paid for the priviledge of being there before dawn! 

Sometimes working at Crime Prevention Ottawa makes me sad or angry, when I see the victimization, the wasted lives I get discouraged.  But there is something about a big group of people committing to positive action that just turns that around for me. 

And I like eating bacon and sausage too…

2 Responses to Group think – the good, the bad, and the beautiful

  1. Buzzpedia says:

    I {don’t|do not} even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was {good|great}. I {don’t|do not} know who you are but {definitely|certainly} {you are|you’re} going to a famous blogger if you {are not|aren’t} already 😉 Cheers!…

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me….

  2. Genuinely says:

    This can be specifically what I had been looking for, many thanks

Leave a Reply

